Loving Debrecen in eight easy steps

Studying abroad in a foreign country can be quite overwhelming at times: a different currency, a foreign language, a new surrounding and what seems like way too many information to keep track of during the first few days. This short guide aims at helping you to make it through the first few days safe and sound and without too much confusion. If you need some quick advice, you can come back to this page and look up the information needed. 

The list below states the topics of posts that will be postet until the end of May. I will update the links as the posts are uploaded. If you don’t want to miss any updates, follow me on facebook! 

However, I’m sure you won’t need it for too long. In little but no time, you will have made many friends, hooked up with your buddy and found your personal favorite spots and things to do in Debrecen.


15-03-20_ungarn_szeged_iiris24_resizedAfter having spent a total of exactly 100 days in Debrecen, I have learned to love this city. Not only did I manage to find my way around and to make out the nicest spots for whichever activity but also have I become part of a great (exchange) student community, learned a lot on numerous levels and most of all about myself. To conclude this series of posts on my experiences in Debrecen, I would like to share my thought on studying abroad with you:

Studying abroad is an experience producing relationships and memories that can last a lifetime.You might struggle to keep in touch with your friends back home. You re-evaluate your interpersonal relationships on numerous levels. You build new friendships. Some of those might last a lifetime. You learn a new language. You learn to find your way around in a formerly unknown surrounding. You get a chance to grow academically. More importantly, you grow personally. You might face some obstacles – and will most certainly overcome them. And most of all, you will (hopefully) learn to enjoy every moment of your life, remember the importance of appreciation and to treasure the memories and friendships you make for they might last a lifetime.

2 thoughts on “Loving Debrecen in eight easy steps

  1. I liked everything you said about life in Debrecen ! Thank you so much for this article. I’m going to study there for 2 years and I was really nervous about but now after reading I feel so much better !! But I can’t find the last two steps ( Traveling around Debrecen & How to make the most of your stay abroad) 😦

    Like

    • Hi Nadia, I’m glad you liked the bog series. You’re actually right – I totally forgot to upload the last two parts of the serious because I was traveling home at that time already. I’ll make sure to upload those two posts as soon as possible 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

