Szeged: Architecture and Cake

After spending a great Friday night and Saturday in Pécs, we headed down south to Szeged. My honest opinion of Hungary’s third largest city after Budapest and Debrecen? I’m not too impressed. Let’s say it’s nice to visit – but that’s about it. It offers are some pretty buildings and some nice restaurants and cake shops. One might blame that impression of mine on the cloudy weather or the fact that great parts of the town are under construction. I guess I will just check the city of my list of places to visit and move on. Next stop in two weeks: Romania.

Nachdem wir einen fantastischen Freitagabend und Samstag in Pécs verbracht haben, sind wir am Sonntag gen Süden nach Szeged aufgebrochen. Meine ehrliche Meinung zur drittgrößten Stadt Ungarns nach Budapest und Debrecen? Ich hatte mehr erwartet. Die Stadt ist… nett. Zu sehen gibt es vielen hübsche Gebäude, die sich in meinen ungebildeten Augen doch alle recht ähneln, und viele nette Restaurants. Vielleicht sollte ich diesen Eindruck auf den grauen Himmel schieben oder auf die Tatsache, dass gefühlt die halbe Stadt gerade restauriert wird. Vielleicht kann ich Szeged aber auch einfach auf der Liste von Orten, die ich besuchen möchte, abhaken – und mich der nächsten widmen. Nächster Halt in zwei Wochen: Rumänien.

However, I still do not want to withhold my impressions of Szeged from you. We went on the walking tour recommended in Lonely Planet’s Hungary Edition of 2013 but made some changes to it by adding Dóm tér and the National Pantheon as well as a nice cake shop in the end. Join us!

Nichtsdestotrotz möchte ich euch meine Eindrücke von Szeged nicht vorenthalten. Wir sind dem Stadtspaziergang des 2013er englisch-sprachigen Lonely Planet für Ungarn gefolgt. Hinzugefügt haben wir Dóm tér mit dem ungarischen Pantheon und eine schöne Konditorei. Kommt mit spazieren!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Besides all the whining about Szeged not being too pretty, I would also like to share my favorite place of the city with you: Tiszavirág Szeged. It’s a very pretty, modern restaurant that serves very tasty and fresh food at reasonable prices.

Neben der ganzen Jammerei über Szegeds Hässlichkeit möchte ich euch auch meine wärmste Empfehlung für das Tiszavirág Szeged aussprechen, ein ganz entzückendes modern-gemütliches Restaurant, das leckeres, frisches Essen zu annehmbaren Preisen serviert.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Szeged: Architecture and Cake

  1. Pingback: Pécs: a Lovely Little Town | Smile Each Moment

Leave a Reply

