What I Miss While Being Abroad

As much as I love being abroad – there always are some things/ people/ circumstances I miss while being away from home. However, as always there are two sides to each medal:

What I often miss while being abroad

  • Being able to call my Mom and friends whenever I want
  • Having a fully equipped kitchen to cook and bake healthy food in
  • Having a fully equipped flat with anything I need to cook/ clean/ keep myself busy
  • Knowing my way around
  • Speaking the commonly spoken language
  • Having a certain routine
  • My jobs
  • My old friends
It's always a pleasure to go for a walk with a friend.

It’s always a pleasure to go for a walk with a friend. (c) Jonas Zerweck

What I like about being abroad

  • Remembering things way better than I usually would in order to be able to tell my family and friends about it next time I get a chance
  • Becoming creative due to little equipment in my temporary kitchen/ flat
  • Tasting local foods and drinks
  • Learning to find my way around
  • Learning a new language
  • Experiencing sometimes challenging but fun encounters due to the language barrier
  • Exploring new places and spaces
  • Finding cool things to do, nice places to eat, drink, or hang out
  • Stepping out of my comfort zone, facing challenges
  • Getting rid of my routine and changing perspectives
  • Being a bit more open-minded and easy-going than at home
  • Making new friends
  • Knowing my way around, having adjusted to the once new und unknown circumstances and feeling at home by the time I’m departing to go back home to Germany

Was ich fernab der Heimat vermisse

So sehr ich es liebe, fremde Länder zu bereisen – einige Dinge/ Menschen/ Gewohnheiten vermisse ich doch ab und zu. Wie so häufig im Leben hat aber jede Medaille mehr al seine Seite:

Was ich während meiner Auslandsaufenthalte oft vermisse

  • Meine Mama und Freunde anrufen können, wann immer ich möchte
  • Eine voll ausgestattete Küche haben, in der ich gesunde Leckereien backen und kochen kann
  • Putzsachen, Kochutensilien und alles, was das Herz zum Leben begehrt in meiner Wohnung finden können
  • Mich auskennen
  • Die Landessprache sprechen
  • Meinen Alltag
  • Meine Jobs
  • Meine alten Freunde

Was ich daran liebe, fernab der Heimat zu leben

  • Mir vieles deutlich besser merken, um meinen Lieben bei nächster Gelegenheit ausführlich davon berichten zu können
  • In der Küche auch mit begrenzten Möglichkeiten kreativ werden
  • Lokale Spezialitäten probieren
  • Lernen, mich an fremden Orten zurechtzufinden
  • Eine neue Sprache lernen
  • Manchmal etwas anstrengend, aber meist lustige, Begegnungen erleben, wenn ich mich trotz Sprachbarriere versuche zu verständigen.
  • Neue Orte erkunden
  • Ständig auf der Suche nach schönen Orten zum ruhängen und leckerem Essen sein
  • Meine Komfortzone verlassen und mich neuen Herausforderungen stellen
  • Mich von alten Alltagsroutinen befreien und neue Perspektiven einnehmen
  • Ein bisschen offener und lockerer drauf sein als sonst
  • Neue Freundschaften schließen.
  • Mich nach einer Weile in der neuen Heimat auskennen, mich an die einst ungewohnten Lebensumstände gewöhnt haben und mich zuhause fühlen – genau dann, wenn die deutsche Heimat wieder ruft.
Leave a Reply

