Hello Debrecen

My first day in Debrecen couldn’t have gone better. After landing in Budapest after an about 90 minutes flight from Dortmund, Malou (the second Erasmus student from Dortmund) and I took a pre-ordered cab to Debrecen. It was totally worth the 10.000 Forinth (30 €) because it saved us changing public transport four times with our heavy luggage and about an hour or two of travel time.

The driver dropped us right in front of our dormitory where one of our Erasmus buddies, Flora, met us to help with the housing registration and finding our rooms.

My room looks much nicer than I had expected it. It is clean and fully furnished for two persons. The bed even comes with fresh bed sheets and the bathroom is only shared by me and my Hungarian room mate Susi.

I didn’t really get to talk to Susi then because she was in a hurry to meet a friend when I arrived (I talked to her by now: she’s nice). After settling in my new home for the next four months (surprisingly, I even found enough space for all my stuff), Malou and I met with Christina. She did her B.A. in Dortmund and is currently finishing her English M.A. in Debrecen. She has been living here fort he past two+ years and gave us a little campus tour.Afterwards, she took us to have a nice Hungarian style dinner (it was delicious but containes way too much meat for me) and to a nice pub to meet with some of her Hungarian friends.

Before heading home, we took a little walk through the snowy and super pretty city of Debrecen. A perfect ending to a good start.

Hallo Debrecen

Mein erster Tag in Debrecen hätte nicht besser laufen können. Nachdem meine Kommilitonin Malou und ich nach 90 Minuten Flug von Dortmund aus in Budapest gelandet sind, hat uns gleich das vorbestellte Taxi eingesammelt. Die 30.000 Forinth (30€) dafür waren wirklich gut investiert: sie haben uns fünf Mal umsteigen im öffentlichen Nahverkehr mit schwerem Gepäck und zwei extra Stunden Reisezeit erspart. Der Fahrer hat uns nach zweistündiger Fahrt durch die Pampe (Ungarn ist platt) direkt vor unserem Wohnheim rausgelassen. Dort hat und gleich Flora, unser Erasmus-Buddy empfangen und uns bei der Anmeldung für unsere Zimmer geholfen.

Mein Zimmer – ein Doppelzimmer, das ich mir mit der Ungarin Susi teile –war deutlich netter als erwartet. Es ist sauber, voll möbliert und das Bett war frisch bezogen. Das Bad teile ich mir nur mit Susi und nicht wie erwartet mit drei oder mehr weiteren Personen.

Mit Susi kam ich noch nicht recht ins Gespräch, weil sie gerade auf dem Sprung war, als ich ankam (mittlerweile haben wir uns kennengelernt: sie ist nett). Dafür habe ich aber nach dem Auspacken und Einrichten (ich habe sogar all meinen Kram gut unterbekommen) einen netten Nachmittag und Abend mit Malou und Christina verbracht. Letztere kommt auch aus Dortmund, aber macht gerade ihren Master in Debrecen. Sie kennt sich nach über zwei Jahren hier also schon bestens aus und hat uns gleich eine kleine Campustour gegeben. Danach waren wir ungarisch essen (sehr lecker, aber für meinen Geschmack etwas zu fleischlastig) und mit ihren ungarischen Freunden in einem Pub.

Auf dem Heimweg durften wir den Anblick des verschneiten, super süßen Städtchens Debrecen genießen. Ein perfekter Abschluss für den Neubeginn.

Leave a Reply

