Looking back on 2013

Since it’s almost New Year’s Eve and 2013 is soon coming to an end, I would like to share some thoughts about this past year with you:

I am incredibly grateful for these past twelve months. 2013 has been an amazing year for me. I don’t even really know where to start when recapitulating it.

I am grateful for my friends. Thank you… for comforting me, for making me smile and laugh, for spending hours, days, weeks and months together living through coining experiences, for being my rock even when I was thousands of miles away – just by letting me know they are thinking of me.

I am grateful for my natural family. Thank you…for putting up with me, for helping me to overcome struggles, for supporting my every step, for laughing and comforting me.

I am grateful for what I consider my second families in the US and Italy. Although I have not seen some of you for quite a while it is a great feeling to know we are always in each other’s hearts.

I am grateful for the experiences I was able to make. Moving out into my very first own shared apartment. Meeting great people. Making the best friends one could ever hope for. Learning that there are not only friends but also people you have to let go as well. Going to fun parties. Finish my first year at university. Interning at the German Congress. Working for great publications and taking new chances by taking on new jobs and let old ones go. Visit my lovely friends and second family in Italy. Go to Rock am Ring to have an awesome week with countless parties and music. Spending a great deal of time with my wonderful god daughter and cousin Martha – my favorite little girl. Spend nine indescribable weeks in India – a time that probably left its marks as strong as nothing else before. Organizing “Helden von hier.” Celebrating my grandparent’s 65th wedding anniversary – that’s what I call true love. … Learning, living dreams, overcoming fears, crying, smiling, laughing, eating, drinking, thinking, … there’s countless more things, moments and persons I could think of I am incredibly grateful for. Sometimes I feel like I’m the happiest girl in the world.

No, not everything does always turn out the way it was planned. However, I strongly believe that everything in live has a purpose. We might not always get the whole picture but someone does somewhere have a plan for each of us in store. All you need to do is to have faith in yourself and its grace.

“Whatever happens, it is up to ourselves to see good luck or bad luck in it.”~Anthony de Mello

All the best for 2014 to all my friends, family and followers (my statistic tells me I have some 🙂 ). May this  new year wash away all bad deeds and memories of the past year and bring a new beginning in your life. May it bring more happiness, love, friendship, new goals, achievements and a lot of new inspiration on your life.

Leave a Reply

