Second day, first morning/ Tag 2 – der erste Morgen

Bild

I am blogging in English and German language. The German article starts right below the English one – just scroll down.

Ich blogge auf Englisch und Deutsch. Den deutschen Artikel findest du direkt unter dem jeweiligen englischen – scrolle einfach runter.

1. August 2013 – Day 2/ Morning

Some people were supposed to move out to another flat last night, but they did not. They are supposed to do so tonight – but I guess we’ll have to wait to find out if that is really going to happen. I did not experience a lot of the trouble they had because I have already been asleep then. After having some initial troubles with falling asleep (too warm, too cold, to bright, to loud, not feeling well, and so on and so forth) I actually had a good night’s sleep.

Although there were seven other people with me in the room, I did not wake up once – incredible. But those who know me know that I sleep like a stone anyways – so it is actually not THAT surprising.

I already feel much better than I did last night already. It is raining right now, so it is a bit easier to breath than it was yesterday. I also talked to some of the volunteers that have already been here for a while about how they felt when they first arrived. Many told me they had tough first 10 to 14 days but are now feeling alright. That’s the culture shock, I guess. Those who are confronted with the Indian reality need strong nerves, I guess.

We will take the rickshaw to work for our project now. I am curious about the work we will have to do today. At least, my visit to the slum will not be as much of an unexpected surprise as it was yesterday….

1. August 2013 – Tag 2/ Morgen

Eigentlich sollten letzte Nacht einige Leute in eine andere Wohnung umziehen, nun wird das wohl doch erst heute geschehen (man sei gespannt). Ich habe davon nicht so viel mitbekommen, weil ich nach einigen Anlaufschwierigkeiten (zu warm, zu kalt, zu hell, zu laut, Unwohlsein, innere Unruhe, blabla) dann doch endlich tief und fest geschlafen habe.

Die Nacht war, trotz sieben anderen Personen im Raum, erstaunlich erholsam – aber ich schlafe ja bekannter Maßen eh wie ein Stein.

Mir geht es schon etwas besser als gestern. Es regnet gerade, sodass die Luft ein bisschen erträglicher ist. Das Atmen fällt mir schon weniger schwer. Nachdem ich mich gestern mit einigen den Freiwilligen, die schon länger hier sind, über ihren Kulturschock unterhalten habe, mache ich mir über meine aktuelle Gefühlssituation etwas weniger Sorgen. Die ersten 10 bis 14 Tage waren wohl für die meisten sehr hart. Nun würden sie sich schon viel besser fühlen. Wer auf die indische Realität trifft, braucht starke Nerven.

Gleich fahren wir mit der Rikscha zu unserem Projekt. Mal sehen, welche Arbeit heute für uns bereit steht. Der Besuch im Slum ist nun wenigstens keine unerwartete Überraschung mehr…

Leave a Reply

