Major Culture Shock / Kulturschock hoch tausend

I am blogging in English and German language. The German article starts right below the English one – just scroll down.

Ich blogge auf Englisch und Deutsch. Den deutschen Artikel findest du direkt unter dem jeweiligen englischen – scrolle einfach runter.

Wednesday, July 31st 2013

The greatest culture shock ever

My first impression about India is quite ambivalent. After overcoming my first panic attack on the plane by talking to some nice Americans at Mumbai airport, I was overwhelmed after I landed in Baroda this morning. This city incorporates all I could think about when imagining a typical Indian city.

The airport looks like an Indian castle. The Indian do really shake their head all the tame. I took a moto-rickshaw to get to my apartment. Right of way has who honks the loudest. There are countless little shops on the sides of the streets. Cows and dogs walk around everywhere. It is dirty but not unbearable. It smells, but does not stink too bad. Unfortunately, I also already caught sight of street children, beggars, and slums.

When I arrived at my apartment, I was speechless once again – but not due to positive reasons. My AISEC committee in Germany had warned me about the fact that Indian committees tend to place too many people in an apartment. My Indian buddy had told me this was not going to happen in Baroda. He had said not more than five or six volunteers to share an apartment, so I felt save. However, when I arrived, there were about 50 (!!!) intern sleeping and snoring. Everybody only had a mattress on the floor to sleep on and just enough space to set their luggage beside them. No more space for anything else. Walking paths? No! Private space? Never heard oft hat. My buddy has just told me some people will be moving to another apartment today (Wednesday) so that only five or six people would share a rooms (as it has been planned) – that would be okay.

When the other volunteers woke up at around ten (I arrived at 7.30 a.m.), I talked to some of them. Before that, I only talked to a Taiwanese girl until then because she had already been awake when I arrived. She told me my buddy would not come to see me until the evening. This is why I decided to simply join five Asian boys and girls who work for the same organization I do.

This is when the REAL culture shock started. It was like a punch right in my face. Taking the rickshaw to our work place. Walking through the mud, passing homeless and street children, walking by piles of dirt and rubbish at the side of the streets. The organizations “office” is not more than a tiny chaotic apartment. Today was moving day – the Blue Bird Foundation moved from the apartment we just went to into a new Community Center. For us, that meant to pack boxes, store them in rickshaws and take them to the new place right in the middle of a community.

“Community” is actually an euphemistic word for a little slum. It smells incredibly bad – a mixture pf excrements and dirt. Head and mud add their special spice to the smell as well. Although the community’s kids and mothers happily welcomed us right away, I was stunned for a while. Of course I had known that countless people in India live under bad conditions. And yes, I came here in order to help them to improve. But I still was shocked when I actually faced the real misery, I did not know how to handle the situation. In order to distract myself, I simply did what everybody else did and waited. The kids came into our hut after a while and we decorated the dark, ugly brickworks with stuff they had crafted before. Our job for this week will be to make the brickworks of the community center more child friendly. After decorating, we gave some books to “read” to the boys – probably all between the age of four and seven. They looked at them for a while, smiled happily and left a while later. We than sat at the hut together with our Indian coordinators and the volunteers and talked for a while until we finished our work at around 3 p.m.

The first day’s résumé: I hope I will feel better after getting a good night’s sleep (I didn’t have any sleep besides a few naps on the plane yet). I feel tired and the super humid, warm, sticky air in combination with exhaust fumes and dirt make it really hard for me to breath – even when I am simply sitting. The other volunteers are already quite annoyed by the current housing situation because they have been living as crowded as it is for several days or weeks now. I hope, everything will turn out fine when some people have moved to another place. I would like to get to know more happy, optimistic persons rather than a bunch of sourpusses.  I also hope that my body will quickly adjust to the weather conditions. I am not sure if I will ever get used to the smell and the great misery – but I hope to learn how to cope with being constantly confronted with it. Once I have gotten through this without any damage – I will be able to handle anything!

Mittwoch, 31. Juli 2013

Kulturschock hoch tausend

Mein erster Eindruck von Indien ist sehr ambivalent. Nachdem ich meine anfängliche Panik überwunden habe, indem ich mich am Flughafen Mumbei mit einigen netten Amerikanern unterhalten habe, war ich nach meiner Landung in Baroda heute Morgen erst einmal geflasht. Die Stadt vertritt alles, was mir beim Gedanken an eine typisch indische Stadt an den Kopf kommt.

Der Flughafen sieht aus wie ein indisches Schloss . Die Inder wackeln wirklich ständig mit dem Kopf. Ich wurde von einer Motorikscha zu meiner Unterkunft gefahren. Vorfahrt hat, wer am lautesten hupt. Am Straßenrand stehen unzählige kleine VerkaufsständeAuf der Straße laufen Hunde und Kühe en masse herum. Es ist dreckig, aber nicht unerträglich. Es riecht, aber stinkt nicht all zu sehr.  Leider habe ich auch schon einige Straßenkinder, Bettler und Slums gesehen.

Die Ankunft in meiner Unterkunft hat mir dann auf ein Neues die Sprache verschlagen – allerdings nicht im positiven Sinne. Mein AIESEC-Komitee in Dortmund hatte mich davor gewarnt, dass die Inder einen gern mal in Massenunterkünfte verfrachten. Mein Buddy hier hatte mir aber versichert, dass ich mir ein Apartment mit nur fünf anderen Freiwilligen teilen würde. Als ich ankam, schnarchten im Apartment allerdings knapp 50 (!!!) Praktikanten vor sich hin. Jeder von ihnen hat eine ein Mal zwei Meter große Matte und daneben ein bisschen Platz für den Koffer – dann ist die Bude voll. Laufwege? Fehlanzeige! Privatsphäre? Noch nie gehört. Mein Buddy hat angekündigt, bis heute (Mittwoch)Abend würden 10 und bis morgen dann nochmal 20 Leute in eine andere Wohnung umziehen. Dann würden sich jeweils fünf Personen ein Bettenlager pro Raum teilen. Das wäre schon ein bisschen mehr in Ordnung.

Als die Anderen gegen zehn endlich erwachten – ich habe mich bis dahin mit einer schon wachen Taiwanesin unterhalten, die ebenfalls nicht begeistert war – habe ich mich mit ein paar weiteren der gefühlten tausend Menschen in dieser Wohnung unterhalten. Sie sagten, auf die Buddys müsse man meist bis nachmittags warten, also ging ich einfach auf eigene Faust mit fünf Asiaten, die im gleichen Projekt wie ich arbeiten, los.

Hier begann der Kulturschock – volle Lotte, voll in die Fresse. Mit der Rikscha zum Arbeitsplatz. Durch die Matsche, vorbei an Obdachlosen und Kindern, durch Müllberge am Straßenrand und rein in eine total chaotische kleine Wohnung. Heute war Umzugstag – die Blue Bird Foundation zog von dieser recht großzügigen Wohnung in ein neues Community Center um. Für uns hieß das Sachen packen, sie in Rikschas verladen und sie dann wieder ausladen – in einer „Community“, einer netten Umschreibung für einen kleinen Slum. Dort riecht es ganz schrecklich nach Exkrementen und Dreck. Hitze und Matsche tun ihr Übriges. Die Kinder und Mütter der Community kamen uns zwar gleich freudestrahlend entgegen, trotzdem war ich aber erst mal baff.  Klar wusste ich, dass es zahllosen Menschen in Indien sehr schlecht geht. Und ja, ich bin hergekommen, um ihnen zu helfen. Und trotzdem war ich bei der tatsächlichen Begegnung mit diesem unbeschreiblichen Elend erst mal baff und wusste nicht damit umzugehen. Ich habe dann zu Ablenkung und Eingewöhnung einfach mal gemacht, was alle taten und gewartet. Irgendwann kamen die Kinder rein, wir haben mit ihnen ein bisschen von ihnen gebastelte Deko in der kargen, dunklen Ziegelhütte verteilt und ihnen Bilderbücher gegeben. Die Jungs, schätzungsweise zwischen 4 und 7, haben dann ein Weilchen „gelesen“, und noch ein bisschen angegrinst und verschwanden irgendwann wieder. Wir haben danach mit den beiden indischen Koordinatoren und den sechs Freiwilligen noch ein bisschen in der Hütte rumgesessen und gequatscht und dann gegen 15 Uhr Feierabend gemacht.

Fazit des ersten Tages: ich hoffe, dass es mir nach ein bisschen Schlaf (außer im Flugzeug habe ich noch nicht geschlafen), etwas besser geht. Ich fühle mich schlapp und die super drückende, warme Luft in Verbindung mit all den Abgasen und dem Dreck machen selbst das bloße Atmen im Sitzen der anstrengend. Die andere Freiwilligen sind alle schon ziemlich genervt von der Situation, weil sie schon seit einigen Wochen da sind und deshalb größtenteils nicht so gut drauf. Ich hoffe, das legt sich und ich treffe in den nächsten Tagen ein paar besser gelaunte, optimistische Menschen kennen. Ich hoffe auch, dass sich mein Körper an die Wetterbedingungen hier gewöhnt. Ob ich mich an Elend und Gestank gewöhnen kann, weiß ich nicht – aber ich kann hoffentlich lernen, damit umzugehen. Wenn ich das hier überstanden habe, schaffe ich alles!

One thought on “Major Culture Shock / Kulturschock hoch tausend

  1. Hi Laura, I find your post of your first impressions very interesting, I can’t even imagine living under these conditions. Only a very special person could do what you are doing.
    I wish you the best, stay positive! Your American Mom and Dad send their love, and hugs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

